Author Topic: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS - SOLVED  (Read 12441 times)

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2012, 03:01:58 PM »
Can you check the NFSV3 compatibilty settings in your NFSV4 server software?  You must be the first NFS user with a V4 server.

We have removed all back doors like Telnet  from the software. They  allow the cross flashing of the firmware with other makes.

Offline Mede8er1

  • Administr8or
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3 769
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +107/-27
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2012, 03:05:40 PM »
sweet_anesthesia

Pls make sure the release Compile Date in the X3 setup menu shows as 17Oct 17:37

Mede8er1

Mede8er1
The Greatest Show on Earth
Read the user Guides
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_support_user_guides.htm

Offline sweet_anesthesia

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2012, 03:32:01 PM »
mede8er1:

Thank you for pointing me to that! I redownloaded the firmware and reflashed it. Right now I am running a mkv for more than one hour without any freezes. Looking good so far!  ;D

Thank you very much for your help!

jer1956:

The nfs server in fedora 17 is compatible to nfs clients using v2 up to v4. The default protocol used is v4 - if the client is capable of it. I am one of thousands fedora users running this server ::) . I might be the first one using the med1000x though. If the synology NAS systems didn't have their 8k limitation you could have been facing far more bug reports than just mine.

No telnet - okay i understand the reason. It would just make the process of beta testing quite a bit easier if there were a way to access debug information.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, 03:48:35 PM by sweet_anesthesia »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2012, 03:56:19 PM »

No telnet - okay i understand the reason. It would just make the process of beta testing quite a bit easier if there were a way to access debug information.

Yes..but we wouldn't be sure we where debugging problems for Sanji customers. Some 1073 users  had the bare faced cheek to cross flash onto other makes and then post on the Sanji forum.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: Re: Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2012, 05:12:43 PM »
Yes..but we wouldn't be sure we where debugging problems for Sanji customers. Some 1073 users  had the bare faced cheek to cross flash onto other makes and then post on the Sanji forum.

sent by mobile with Tapatalk

"Some"? We were flooded with them here.. .. ;D
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline sweet_anesthesia

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2012, 05:20:54 PM »
What about a "Debug mode" which can be activated in the settings. When activated a logfile with debug info is saved on the internal hd. Or something similar.

well this is getting OT..

Dear moderator, consider this issue ...solved...! ;D

Thanks to everyone involved!

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Re: MED1000X3D Box freezes when streaming over NFS - SOLVED
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2012, 05:48:03 PM »
Programaing would be a lot simpler if you could predict your problems in advance..and build a dump for those areas. Unfortunately you find you have to follow the evidence to  wherever it takes you..and that requires a debugger with much more freedom..a tool only the coders build into  their versions.  
« Last Edit: October 17, 2012, 06:06:28 PM by jer1956 »