Author Topic: getting random quits during .MKV-- 15August 2012 XX OPEN BETA XX for MED1000X3D  (Read 10143 times)

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Network (Gigabit):

Airport Extreme -> D-Link Switch -> -> D-Link switch -> MED10003XD.
        |
    NAS (Movie Files)

Did some playing this morning.

if I do the below Avatar 3D bluray ISO plays much better not perfect but almost.

Airport Extreme ->     MED10003XD
         |
      NAS (Movie Files)

However I do not understand why the switches are making issues.   They are both D-LINK Gigabit switches with CAT 6 cables.

Is there such a thing as a bad switch for streaming.  Some are better (Faster?) than others for streaming?  If so which ones...

Thanks all for help
      


Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
IT's a handskaking issue as you are feeding one set of    video buffers with the output of a second set of network buffers. When copying nothing is time critical...with streaming it is.  You might have to  forgo a lttle copying speed to sync up the streaming buffers.

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Thanks. 

Could you advise what I change on the NAS or the router.  Network newbie here.

To achieve the required results.


Offline icvdo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
I am having problems same problems; after about 20 mins of playing a ISO 3D over a gigabit network, I get sound drops and jerky motion in the movie. The movie is unwatchable and I have to reboot the MED10003D.
Running the movie directly VIA USB HD works without issues.

Running the latest 31st August firmware.  Makes no difference if SMB or NFS.

1.  CAT 5 Cables
2. Gigabit Switch
3. WD My Book Live Network Storage 3G
4. Netgear Router

Offline Mede8er1

  • Administr8or
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3 769
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +107/-27
icvdo

Are you running the latest firmware on the WD My Book Live Network Storage 3G

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdfmb_live

Also check your link speed on back panel bottom LED ie yellow = 100Mbps  Green = 1000Mbps

Mede8er1


Mede8er1
The Greatest Show on Earth
Read the user Guides
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_support_user_guides.htm

Offline Mede8er1

  • Administr8or
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3 769
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +107/-27
3D BDISO's with multiple Audio Tracks can be very demanding on Network Streaming in heavy scenes as the X3 processor needs to process the 3D content and Stream the content simultaneously. For reliable 3DBDISO playback we suggest you use an internal HDD or external USB Drive.

Mede8er1

Mede8er1
The Greatest Show on Earth
Read the user Guides
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_support_user_guides.htm

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Yeh.  bit disappointed in this to be honest :(

Is it a limitation with the realtek chipset?

I might change to the new popcorn A400 to try that if it is.

Offline icvdo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
icvdo

Are you running the latest firmware on the WD My Book Live Network Storage 3G

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdfmb_live

Also check your link speed on back panel bottom LED ie yellow = 100Mbps  Green = 1000Mbps

Mede8er1


I can confirm I have the latest update firmware on my WD live and I am at Green = 1000Mbps . I guess for 3D ISO playback I will use an internal HDD or external USB Drive.


Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Realtek's networking has always lagged behind what the codec can do...especially via wi_fi.  The x1  could just about  manage dvd by wi-fi..and 2d bluray need stripping back to the bare essesntial via cable. So although networking has improved...it really needs a lot more cou power to handle full3d hd i/o, whilst unpacking the iso at the same time. The limitation is not the network interface...but the ability of the cpu to empty the buffers fast enough..and have spare time to unpack the iso.


My Sony 1080p 2d bluray player restricts streaming to 720p. So it would appear it's an industry problem.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 09:29:11 AM by jer1956 »

Offline lmao77

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
I have tested Avengers 3D BD ISO, MIB 3  3D BD ISO,Underworld Awaikening 3D BD ISO. without any frame/audio drops,
But i have problems with Star wars Complete saga MKV high bitrate with DTS-HD audio, frame/audio drop, but works fine on internal hdd

All via. SMB streaming from my PC server win7

1000x3d lastest firmware
Router ASUS RT-N56U
Yamaha RX-V1067
Cable CAT5
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 10:51:44 AM by lmao77 »

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
I have tested Avengers 3D BD ISO, MIB 3  3D BD ISO,Underworld Awaikening 3D BD ISO. without any frame/audio drops,
But i have problems with Star wars Complete saga MKV high bitrate with DTS-HD audio, frame/audio drop, but works fine on internal hdd

All via. SMB streaming from my PC server win7

1000x3d lastest firmware
Router ASUS RT-N56U
Yamaha RX-V1067
Cable CAT5

Try nfs streaming. That has less network overhead.

sent by mobile with Tapatalk
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Mede8er1

  • Administr8or
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3 769
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +107/-27
As Maasbommel pointed out NFS will give far superior Network streaming vs Samba

Here is a comparison on V1.0.3 - 7Sept



Guide to setup Hanewin NFS on PC
http://www.sitesurf.net/ip-9/encoded/Oi8vd3d3Lm1lZGU4ZXJmb3J1bS5jb20vaW5kZXgucGhwL3RvcGljLDE4NS4wLmh0bWw%3D

Mede8er1

« Last Edit: September 12, 2012, 07:54:23 AM by Mede8er1 »

Mede8er1
The Greatest Show on Earth
Read the user Guides
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_support_user_guides.htm

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
I tried NFS with the same .iso and large MKV file.   No difference.

I don't think the problem is a network problem now as the NAS is running 50-75MB/s at the same location through the same cable and switch.

I think it might be a processor power issue of the realtek having to deal with the gigabit ethernet processing and decoding the large files and playing them all.    It may work from disk instead of ethernet because it removes the CPU processing power for streaming therefore leaving enough cpu capacity for the decode and display - just a guess.

Avatar ISO is 50GB and avengers MKV is 32GB.

I read an interesting post on another site: http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=204&t=19809