Author Topic: getting random quits during .MKV-- 15August 2012 XX OPEN BETA XX for MED1000X3D  (Read 10144 times)

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Seem to be getting random quits during .MKV playback across the network.

Screen will go blank for 5-7 seconds without warning / stuttering or freezing - then the main screen comes back with Media Library highlighted.

Occurring on several files.

Not sure if it's a network problem (I would assume freezing buffering or stuttering if thats the case) or firmware issue.

Files are located on SMB share on gigabit wired ethernet.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2012, 09:54:13 AM by Maasbommel »

Offline Mede8er1

  • Administr8or
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3 769
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +107/-27
dekka007

As already explained vie email

This is a typical symptom of having 2 x mede8ers on the same network with the same Host Name. Pls check this

Mede8er1

Mede8er1
The Greatest Show on Earth
Read the user Guides
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_support_user_guides.htm

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Seem to be getting random quits during .MKV playback across the network.

Screen will go blank for 5-7 seconds without warning / stuttering or freezing - then the main screen comes back with Media Library highlighted.

Occurring on several files.

Not sure if it's a network problem (I would assume freezing buffering or stuttering if thats the case) or firmware issue.

Files are located on SMB share on gigabit wired ethernet.

Can you please post more details of how you upgraded, and your setup, in the X3 Networking Issues section. This section  can become untidy if we start fixing possible setup issues in the Firmware Response thread.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Update: have split off this topic for isolated troubleshooting.
We expect some config setup issue at the moment, not specific FW issue.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Hi dekka007,

Were you already able to solve your issue?

regards,
Maasbommel
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
It does not seem to be happening as frequently as other day.    Occasionally every 3 or 4 movies watched.

My other X3D has SMB switched off.

I am assuming network issues however it is wired with Giga ethernet.    Possibly MAC OSX implementation of SMB that is the issue.

Offline Mike42

  • B8a Tester - 1000X3D
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +2/-1
@dekka007:

Had the same issue with my X2. had to configure my ethernet card to half duplex i.s.o. full duplex.
after that no more trouble's with quiting movie's

 ;)
« Last Edit: August 22, 2012, 04:55:33 PM by Mike42 »
Mede8er : MED1000X3D
Network: Wired CAT5
NAS: WDMyCloud 4TB, streaming true NFS
Tv: Samsung LE32B650T2WXXN, LCD, HD TV
AV receiver: Onkyo TX-NR414
additional equipment:
- Switch sitecom N118 (MED, Onkyo receiver,PS3)
- Samsung galaxy Tab-3 10.1", android 4.2, max resultion 1280x800

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Mike42,

Thanks will give that a go tonight.

Any feedback from the Mede8er team as to why this occurs and why half duplex would solve it?

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
It can be some Gbit incompatibility issue between the Mede8er and your network.
If that happens setting RX/TX flow control on or setting to half duplex modes is one of the tricks around it.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Any feedback Dekka?
Did the subscribed change in settings help?
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Didn't fix it for me.  However I changed it to Jumbo packets MTU 9000 seems to have solved it.

Still having issues streaming Blu ray rips of 31gb and 53gb files via gigabit ethernet from imac.   Just stutters a lot on those sort of huge MKV files.

I am not sure if the problem is the iMac and the firewire 800 drive that the file is located on......

They play fine from the HD on the X3D.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Tried jumbo frames Off? Mtu 1500?
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline dekka007

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Makes no difference to me.

Installed a new NAS synology DS1512+ connected it to the same switch as Mede8er via CAT 6 cables and gigabit switch.

Avatar 3D ISO fails to stream smoothly with either 5.1 or DTS selected.   It streams but stutters when large movement on screen and sound drops off.

Also Avengers 30GB 2D MKV same problem.

No idea the problem.  However if I put on internal HD in the Mede8er they play ok.

Running the latest 31st August firmware.  Makes no difference if SMB or NFS.

1.  New CAT 6 Cables
2. New Gigabit Switch
3. New Gigabit NAS (was streaming from imac prior with same problem(

No idea what else to try...

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 340
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +198/-55
Can you do some comparison tests with a PC? You can then monitor the throughput using monitoring tools.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Is your nas and your Mede8er connected to the same switch?
Or is there some other setup with multiple switches and routers?
Please try to describe a bit more details how things are connected and what components are used in your network as detailed as possible to get some idea what could be the root cause.

Best way to troubleshoot these kind of issues is to start with a simple as possible network setup and if that is working ok, move to more complex structure and compare again.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.