Author Topic: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's  (Read 6332 times)

Offline ethan

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« on: September 17, 2011, 04:36:01 pm »
So, the future is here  :) - Seagate already released 4TB hdd (for now, just in external form...but soon there will be internal 4TB HDDs) - and just happens that Im willing to replace my original Med500 with Med500x2  :)

My question is - Is med500x2 capable suporting 4TB HDD's - both in internal or external form
Are there hardware limitations past 2.2TB - or is it just software limitation?
Or there is no limitation for 4TB HDD's?

I am very happy with software solutions, so the only thing I need to know are these limitations regarding hard drives - just say that 4TB HDD's are suported and Im giving you my 300 euros for Med500x2 (but dont lie Sanji - because I will hunt you down! :)  ;D

It would be very cool if Sanji would release Med1000 that suports 2 hard drives, but I dont see that coming, so one internal 4TB hard drive is something that will solve all my problems  :)

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2011, 09:31:49 pm »
See the specs:
http://www.mede8er.com/mede8er_products_med500x2.html

Currently supported: Internal Hard Drive Up to 3TB (SATA2)*
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline ethan

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 10:14:45 pm »
Yes, it is clearly written :"Currently supported: Internal Hard Drive Up to 3TB (SATA2)* "
I think its obvious it can not "currently support" 4TB hard drives because they are not on the market yet (well...there is external version - http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/external/external-hard-drive/desktop-hard-drive/ )

And it is also written (on the same page you gave me):
"3.5" SATA Internal Hard Drive Bay up to 3TB compatible SATA2 (SATA3 not compatible with current firmware)"

but there isnt any information about 4 TB (or maby, this SATA 3 part refers to 3+TB disc...I dont know)

my question is
If it supports 3TB, does that mean it will suport 4TB (with upgraded software)

I am not a programer, and my hardware knowledge is limited...so im asking here...because I dont want (4 monthes from now) to realize "[CENSORED], Med500x2 will never support hard drives bigger than 3TB because of hardware limitations, realtek chip, this or that connector..."

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2011, 09:15:45 am »
The answer is simple:

This question can only be answered when those disks are available on the market and Mede8er is able to test.....

And therefore cannot be answered at the moment.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline ethan

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2011, 12:52:22 pm »
ok, I understand
unfortunately, I must decide now to buy it or not (becaude it is a gift for birthday)...I think I'll buy it and hope for the best :)

Thanks for reply, and keep up the good work

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2011, 02:33:32 pm »
Current 3tb support is down to the use of 4k alignment. That means the "standard" Master Boot Record (MBR) is still used, it's just the sector size are 4k not 512b.  Really big drives need GPT, not MBR. So the issue is how big will manfuacturers make 4k MBR drives before they have to shift over to GPT.

Offline saskir

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2011, 08:01:02 pm »
Or to be more exact it would be interesting to know if Sanji or more respectively the med500x2 allows the usage of GPT.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2011, 08:30:31 pm »
Once you start talking BIG drives you really need a central source that multiple devices can use i.e a NAS with high ttransfer rates. Sanji have no control over the use of GPT.   Realtek will have to move over to a linux build for the SDK which  supports it.

Offline JPF

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2011, 05:30:06 pm »
Maybe the same question here:
Did anyone allready tried to connect an external dual HDD with 2 HDD´s, connected by eSata to the internal X2 Sata controller?
Could it work, for example adjusted to one big disk of 6Gb?
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 12:41:01 pm by JPF »

Offline Mick24

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Med500x2 & 4TB HDD's
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2016, 09:12:05 am »
I tried a 4TB HGST Installed, formatted ready to use with firmware 3.04. I'm also using a 8TB usbdrive with no problems now for years