Author Topic: how to fix your mkv  (Read 29089 times)

Offline tachita

  • Guest
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 0
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
how to fix your mkv
« on: September 12, 2010, 05:00:36 pm »
sience mkvtoolnix v4.2.0 bring a header compression that is not supported on realtek players and until this will be fixed, i dare to post a link found on asus oplay forum that will fix mkv's automaticaly for non-tehnical minds.

or you could use the mkvtoolnix interface where you can choose non compression.
both variants work fine:

Quote
So in the last few days there have been a few posts from people getting "invalid file" when trying to play some mkv's. This is likely due to header compression that became a default feature in the lastest editions of mkvmerge (software used to create the mkv's).

I was using mkvmerge to remux the files without compression. I was recently "googling" and found a "simple" way to fix them. I found this on some forum (unfortunately I don't remember which one or whom to credit for creating this file).

1) First you need to install mkvtoolnix on your computer:

http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/win32/mkvtoolnix-unicode-4.2.0-setup.exe

2) Create a folder in a location of your choice...say "My Documents" for eg. Name it something like MKV Fixer.

3) Download this zip file and extract the file "FixMkv_toolnix_installed.cmd" to the folder you just created.

http://hotfile.com/dl/67560690/e5159db/file.rar.html


Alternate:

http://rapidshare.com/files/417531881/file.rar

4) Now when you get a .mkv that shows up invalid, simply place it in the Mkv Fixer folder, click on the FixMkv_toolnix_install.cmd file, and a command prompt window should open showing progress and it should repair the file,and it should then play on the Oplay.

I've tested it on a few "invalid files" and it has worked perfectly!
the original link:
http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20100808111057218&board_id=19&model=O%21Play+HDP-R1&page=1&SLanguage=en-us

and the cmd line, for you to not have to wait that much:

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +50/-8
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 05:18:44 pm »
ThanksTachita. Really helpfull!
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline stayfunkey

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
  • StayFunKey
    • Kixxx Development
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 03:43:48 pm »
Also thanks, great tool  ;D
Because of this tool I finally can watch my (only audio) movie on the mede8er.

Tip: Instead of copying the mkv file to the "mkv fixer" folder, copy the "FixMKV_toolnix_installed.CMD" file to the movie folder!
Is much faster!

Ciao
Mede8er FW 4.04  (Shizzl mod) no HardDisk
by LAN Sitecom WL575 router
Windows 7 64bit on Q9550 quadcore PC
Sony KDL-40w5500
Sony STR-DB780 AV receiver / Home Cinema set
Logitec Harmony One

Offline tachita

  • Guest
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 0
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 05:19:40 pm »
or you can drag your mkv over mkvmerge app and choose no compression  ;)

Offline greywall

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 236
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2010, 05:46:50 pm »
...or merging with mkvtoolnix 4.1.1  ;)

Offline Teki Ninjo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2010, 11:45:13 am »
Can anyone who has the .cmd file successfully downloaded pls post itīs content? All the download links are down :(

Offline MarioB

  • B8a Tester
  • Experienced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +1/-0
  • If It Bleeds, We Can Kill It!!!!
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2010, 12:54:02 pm »
Can anyone who has the .cmd file successfully downloaded pls post itīs content? All the download links are down :(

Code: [Select]
REM Whipped up by TEKNO to fix MKV header compression issues on Standalone media players!
REM fixMKV version 1.2
REM Requires MKVToolnix v4.1.1 INSTALLED (it auto detects where)
@ECHO OFF
cd "%~dp0"
SET KEY="HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\mmg.exe"
FOR /F "tokens=2*" %%A IN ('REG QUERY %KEY%') DO SET MKVTOOLPATH=%%B
ECHO MKVToolnix found at %MKVTOOLPATH% > logging.txt
FOR /F "delims=*" %%A IN ('dir /b /s *.MKV') do CALL :MKVFIXMUX "%%A" "%MKVTOOLPATH%"
START "" logging.txt
GOTO :eof
:MKVFIXMUX
"%~dp2mkvmerge.exe" -o "%~dpn1_fix.MKV" --engage keep_bitstream_ar_info -A -S --compression -1:none "%~dpnx1" -D -S --compression -1:none "%~dpnx1" -A -D --compression -1:none "%~dpnx1"
if not errorlevel 0 (
ECHO Failed on %~nx1 remux! >> logging.txt
goto :eof)
if exist "%~dpn1_fix.MKV" (
del "%~dpnx1"
rename "%~dpn1_fix.MKV" "%~nx1")
ECHO Processing of %~nx1 successful! >> logging.txt
goto :eof
Mede8er model: Mede8er_MED500X_V4.0.4_MOD_BY_SHIZZL_INC_HDaudio
Hard disk: WD 1TB, WD10EARS, SATA II, 64MB Cache, WD Caviar Green
Network: CAT5 LAN 100 Mbit, connected through D-Link 100Mbps switch to the SpeedTouch 780 router
PC: Win7 SP1 (64bit, Home Premium) on HP4720s with haneWIN NFS server
Display device: 40" Sony Bravia KDL-40W4000, connected via HDMI
Audio: TV only, HDMI pass through

Offline tachita

  • Guest
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 0
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2010, 01:00:09 pm »
Can anyone who has the .cmd file successfully downloaded pls post itīs content? All the download links are down :(

if you will use the link from our forum wiil be no problem, thats why it was posted and uploaded .

Offline JIGSAW

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2010, 08:01:37 am »
Thanks for this  ;)

Offline Nosoul

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
    • Wallpapers Synopsis
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2010, 09:37:14 pm »
Quote
2010-09-04  Moritz Bunkus  <moritz@bunkus.org>

   * Released v4.3.0.

   * mkvmerge: bug fix: Appending tracks which would normally be
   compressed (e.g. with header removal compression) and turning off
   compression for those tracks with "--compression TID:none" (or the
   corresponsing option in mmg) was resulting in the second and all
   following appended tracks to be compressed all the same.
Source : http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/doc/ChangeLog

Is that mean that the problem is solved with that new version ?

Offline novanod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2010, 05:31:53 am »
i installed version 4.2... of mkvtoolnix. I then copied the code aboved into notebook, removed the three lines that state 'REM' and saved it as a *.cmd..., placed the file into the mkvtoolnix folder. placed my 'corrupt mkv' (badmkv) into the folder aswell and ran the cmd file. A dos box appeared for like 1 second. i did not see any changes happen to the badmkv. it still does not work, however if i run the program mkvtoolnix (mmk.exe i think it's called) and add the badmkv and go through all the settings and 'remux' it, it works... my question is why does my .cmd file not work? even dragging the badmkv onto the .exe as stated above, i get a 1 second dos window...but anyways at least i can get it working even if i must do it the long way. thanks for the help guys. i just revived some awesome episodes i had missed.     windows xp with sp2.

Offline saskir

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2010, 08:21:26 am »
Try to right click on the cmd.exe file and somewhere is an option where you can choose it should stay open. atleast it was so in windows 2000. In windows 7 there is no option whatsoever.

Another way would be to open the cmd.exe and simply go to the folder where the files is (it would be helpful if it would be an easy to reach folder) Example if it is on C:\movies\ . Normally the DOS box starts in you folder eg c:\users\admin\ . Simply type "cd\" and then "cd movies". Now you need to type in simply the name of the cmd file.

Offline RoadDevil

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2010, 03:25:44 pm »
hey cant download the .cmd file because its offline?

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +50/-8
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2010, 04:36:31 pm »
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline RoadDevil

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: how to fix your mkv
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2010, 05:11:57 pm »
yo it worked, thanks a lot