Author Topic: e2fsck seems to do it!  (Read 11941 times)

Offline supermac

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
e2fsck seems to do it!
« on: June 19, 2010, 12:55:36 pm »
This may be some help to other owners of this excellent but slightly frustrating product.

I upgraded from 2.something to 3.0.0 then 3.0.2 then 3.0.4 and discovered that Internet Radio wouldn't work at all. I downgraded to the last 2.something release no better, then upgraded again to 3.0.4. Just the same and also some strange things (freezing, not playing a music title etc).

I read lots of posts here and found the one about possible corruption of the linux partition sda3.

So I telnetted into the box and did:

e2fsck -y /dev/sda3

After it warned me it could upset the file system I ran it and it found lots of errors which it corrected. I ran it again and the partition was clean.

I rebooted after powering off for 30 secs and now everything is perfect! Internet Radio is back and no silly hangups!

Many thanks for the advice, if you have these problems have a go at the above.

cheers supermac

Offline AncientOne

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2010, 07:55:17 pm »
same thing here...
although I get worried from time to time as lots of errors tend to emerge again as you use or simply update firmwares.
I'm worried that one day the files in the disk will ruined for good!

I hadn't had any problems since firmware 2.x (when I first used e2fsck, but now with 3.0.4 they surfaced... and I couldn't get NAS on, again.
So e2fsck fist manually then on auto and NAS on!

Offline novanod

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2010, 11:18:37 pm »
sorry this may be a stupid question, how do you telnet into the Mede8er to run the system file check? do i have to be running a linux operating system? i  think i'm having the same problems with my nas. i have to turn it on, off, on to get my pc to see \\mede8er and it also seems to disconnect by itself. version 3.0.4. win xp. lan cable.

Offline tachita

  • Guest
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 0
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2010, 11:47:06 pm »
sorry this may be a stupid question, how do you telnet into the Mede8er to run the system file check? do i have to be running a linux operating system? i  think i'm having the same problems with my nas. i have to turn it on, off, on to get my pc to see \\mede8er and it also seems to disconnect by itself. version 3.0.4. win xp. lan cable.

Use PUTTY , it has Telnet connection.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2010, 07:44:08 am »
How to Enable the Telnet Client in Windows Vista/7:

1.Click on Start button, then go to Control Panel -> Programs.
2.Under the Programs and Features section, click Turn Windows features on or off. If User Account Control permission confirmation request warning pops up, click on Continue. If you are prompted for an administrator password
, type the password.
3.In the Windows Features dialog box, select (tick) the Telnet Client check box.

Now if you open a Dos box in Windows, you are able to start a Telnet login session by typing:
telnet ip-number-of-your Mede8er

When asked for login name, use:
root

and leave password blank.

regards,
Maasbommel
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline zorofroozo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2010, 02:00:18 pm »
When you try do do this the mede8er says:
Code: [Select]
WARNING!!!  Running e2fsck on a mounted filesystem may cause
SEVERE filesystem damage.

it does this for a reason don't ya think ...
I was thinking about remounting the filesystem read only by using the method described here:  but i was unable to remount the sda3 partition
. Doing a
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/mounts i suspected /tmp/root/ to be /dev/sda3 so i remounted that, it worked. But e2fsck failed to detect a superblock.

I do not have problems with my mede8er, but I was just looking to improve the dangerous method described above. Any ideas? or is it relatively safe?

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2010, 03:17:59 pm »
To my opinion it is not dangerous to run this on sda3, it is just a linux filesystem in flash.
If the filesystem is fixed, and something happened to the filesystem, just reinstalling firmware reinstalling recovery mode will fix that.....

It is totally different when running this on a linux system that is on a PC.....

regards,
Maasbommel
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline zorofroozo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2010, 12:36:09 pm »
thanks for the clarification.  believe I was afraid because i thought it would involve reformating the hard drive. Backing up all my data would cost me a whole day.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: e2fsck seems to do it!
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2010, 02:48:51 pm »
sda3 partition is the linux partiton, media data is on sda1.
So don't touch sda1.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline seanm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
I tried all of this and the samba restart but got a wierd message
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2010, 05:05:21 am »
/ # /tmp/hdd/root/script/samba restart
$Shutting down SMB services: $Shutting down NMB services: $Starting SMB service
: smbd: applet not found
$Starting NMB services: nice: /tmp/package/samba/sbin/nmbd: Input/output error