Author Topic: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network  (Read 636 times)

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« on: January 25, 2019, 10:39:47 pm »
I am having the following problem, on two similar 1000X units.

Both units connect erratically to network. By erratically I mean, one day they connect to network, the following they do not. And so on, like a lottery.

When I setup the network everything seems OK, but then the network options do not show.

I've tried everything: changing LAN cables, connecting without the router, plugging and re-plugging. Nada.

What am I missing? What should I do?

What other information do you need?

Thanks

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 284
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +195/-54
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2019, 08:34:49 am »
Have you changed the network name of one of them? You can't have two players using the default....X3D.

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2019, 09:37:49 am »
I never use both at the same time. Just tested the other too to see if there was a problem in the unit.

Where do I change that name anyway?

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 284
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +195/-54
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2019, 10:17:46 am »
In Network Setup...just above turning Samba on and off.
And your router will link network name to the unique MAC id number. So even if both are not used at the same time it will not like the MAC number flip flopping between two numbers.

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2019, 11:07:08 am »
Before changing that name, just in case, I reinstalled the FW, using both Booloader and V4.02.

Nothing changed on network connection.

Then I changed the device name, rebooted.

Nothing changed on network connection.

It recognizes the IP on wiredlan setup, but then does not see the network.

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2019, 11:25:37 am »
Just to check the LAN cabled connected to the Mede8er, I just connected my laptop to same cable.

Everything is fine with the connection.

It's something in the Mede8er I can't understand. On both units.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 284
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +195/-54
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2019, 02:33:43 pm »
See the network....in Media Library?
Thats becuase Microsoft  has shut down SMB1 Network Discovery. Try creating a Network Shortcut manually.

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 1000X fails to connect to network
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2019, 01:56:44 pm »
How do I create a network shortcut manually in the Mede8er?

Any YouTube video to see that?