Author Topic: Need help upgrading from a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD to a 6TB Barracuda HD  (Read 1334 times)

Offline binrawbissun

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Hello! I own a MED1000X3D running firmware v.4.0.2 and I currently have a full 3TB Seagate Barracuda hard drive. I am purchasing a 6TB Seagate BarraCuda Pro hard drive. My biggest question here is how do I transfer a copy of the files on my 3TB HD to the new unformatted 6TB HD. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline binrawbissun

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Need help upgrading from a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD to a 6TB Barracuda HD
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2018, 11:37:39 pm »
No one? Someone's got to have info on this.

Offline K.B.Nikto

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +19/-1
Re: Need help upgrading from a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD to a 6TB Barracuda HD
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2018, 12:02:46 am »
How about a 3 or 4GB thumb drive? Copy files over, replace the drive, restore to new drive.

Offline binrawbissun

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
How about a 3 or 4GB thumb drive? Copy files over, replace the drive, restore to new drive.

K.B., that would take forever. Iím hoping I can take out the original 3TB drive, put in the new 6TB drive, and then connect the 3TB drive back up to the Mede8er via a USB adapter and copy and paste the directories that are chalked full of videos over to the new drive. Thatís my hopes at least. Iím just really surprised that no one on this forum hasnít crossed this bridge yet. Or, Mede8er tech support offering a solution on how to do this.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 301
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +195/-54
I wouldn't upgrade beyond 3tb. Some users have oveladed the sata power and developed i/o faults.
The technology is based on that of a DVD player. The sata was only  meant for the power load of a DVD player.
Once you need more than 3tb your into NAS territory.

I upgraded my wan router to to the Asus AC88U some time ago. That has far more CPU power than the 1186 chip. I have a powered USB 3.0 drive connected to it. It copes to a PC are over 20 mb/s and hs no problem streaming to the Med. It also supports NFS 2.0.

Spending money on that was a bigger improvement to my overall system than spending the money just on a NAS.

https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/RT-AC88U/

I also have the 4 channel Asus wifi card in my main PC. That gives me a 1084 mbps connection via wifi to the router under my TV.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 11:13:13 am by jer1956 »

Offline mike_carton

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +11/-1
If you're still looking for suggestions, let me know. I've done it.

Offline binrawbissun

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Need help upgrading from a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD to a 6TB Barracuda HD
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2019, 07:06:47 pm »
If you're still looking for suggestions, let me know. I've done it.

I am!

Offline mike_carton

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +11/-1
Re: Need help upgrading from a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD to a 6TB Barracuda HD
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2019, 01:59:28 pm »
1. USB hard drive dock like this: https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-External-Duplicator-Function-EC-HD2B/dp/B0759567JT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=hard+drive+dock&qid=1550929955&s=gateway&sr=8-3

2. Put the drives in the dock, and Windows will assign different drive letters to them

3. Just copy from one to another.

This is the fastest method. If your computer is recent, it'll have USB 3.0; if not, you can connect using USB 2.0 cable to your computer's USB 2.0 port. It'll be slower than USB 3.0 but still faster and more reliable than other methods. I'd recommend getting a 10+ TB 7200 RPM drive like https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-IronWolf-3-5-Inch-Internal-ST10000VN0004/dp/B01IA9GU0Q/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=10+TB+hard+drive&qid=1550930293&refinements=p_89%3ASeagate%7CWestern+Digital&rnid=562234011&s=electronics&sr=1-3 so you're covered for several years.

It's best to copy a few folders (say 100 GB) at a time. Alternately, you could use TeraCopy (https://www.codesector.com/).
« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 02:06:22 pm by mike_carton »