Author Topic: Should I update from v3 to v4?  (Read 1253 times)

Offline William K

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Should I update from v3 to v4?
« on: October 24, 2017, 09:46:12 pm »
Am I missing anything by not having V4? I have V3 that came on my MED600X3D when I bought it. As far as I know everything is working fine.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2017, 08:46:13 am »
Do you feel like you are missing something? Is there something you feel you should be doing that you are not? There is a lot to be said for being happy with what you have. The issue right now is unhappy users finding internet based features they like vanishing due to server changes at the other end and beyond Mede8er control.

Offline William K

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 10:10:30 pm »
Thanks for the affirmation...I'm leaving it alone. The internet feature is the major thing that was bugging me.  ;)

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 77
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2018, 12:49:36 pm »
The questions the moderator is asking about what might be lacking are a bit tricky and unfair. Particularly for most people, that can not explain what they are missing, because they do not know what that might be.

In my case I would love to have a better image, even if I do not know what would have to be changed to improve it. There are certainly things that can be done on the video software to make things "look" better.


Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2018, 02:53:43 pm »
Video software? These players are using Hardware Codecs, hence their limitations. Only high power ARM players running software codecs can be tweaked.

Offline Carlos E. Martinez

  • B8a Tester - X3D Movie Scraper
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 77
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2018, 04:41:48 pm »
You mean a cheaper Arm-based TV box would be an improvement over a MED1000X3D?

Offline mike_carton

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +8/-1
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2018, 05:38:39 pm »
The final firmware is here, even though it is called beta: http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,17776.0.html

You can read the changelog there and make your own decision. I upgraded to it because it is the latest, final fw and it includes some changes but does not include anything undesirable from my pov.

Mede8er continues to be good for playing media stored on local network with 2 caveats:

- No 4k support, though that is mostly a camcorder / home video thing at this point

- The best experience requires using scrapers etc. on a PC or Mac
  - ThumbGen, Yadis, YAMJ or ... for movies
  - TVRename for TV Series
  - TagScanner for music
  - MAJM for aggregated jukebox experience (Jukebox+)

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Should I update from v3 to v4?
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2018, 10:22:20 am »
You mean a cheaper Arm-based TV box would be an improvement over a MED1000X3D?
No I'm saying the X3D is 2012 technology. It is based on a puny CPU and powerful codec chips. All ARM based players have powerful CPU's. Kodi doesn't bother to use the codec chip. It just uses FFMPEG and the age old multi-media extensions in the CPU. Like a PC, every software player running can have different video quality based on it's software codecs.