Author Topic: TV Scraper issue. Fixed. December 2017.  (Read 12919 times)

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
TV Scraper issue. Fixed. December 2017.
« on: September 18, 2017, 08:23:26 pm »
There has been a major API change stopping the player scraping TV. They have changed to using https for image locations, which is not supported by webtools on the player.

The issue has now been fixed.

http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,18940.msg115789.html#msg115789



« Last Edit: December 05, 2017, 09:25:10 am by jer1956 »

Offline Spike30

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 12:59:23 pm »
Is there gonna be a solution for this problem?

Offline jacou031

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2017, 07:59:01 pm »
Hi there

is it the reason why I can't have pictures associated to my series? the files .xml, .jpg are created by can't be read    :-\

thank you for your support

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2017, 08:46:08 am »
Hi there

is it the reason why I can't have pictures associated to my series? the files .xml, .jpg are created by can't be read    :-\

thank you for your support

I said why above. Internet using code running on the player is limited by the webkit. It dosn't support https, and never has. TVDB has changed the links in scrape to https image locations.

Offline jpsc01

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2017, 01:49:15 pm »
I said why above. Internet using code running on the player is limited by the webkit. It dosn't support https, and never has. TVDB has changed the links in scrape to https image locations.

so, what could be a workaround to solve that ?

all my TV series picture/fanart are empty file...

any tools/software we can use to fixe this

why not to have curl or wget in your firmware ?

Offline Met

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2017, 04:16:09 pm »
It dosn't support https, and never has.

Why not fix this big problem?
Can I buy the media player with a useless function?
Product support or something? The last firmware is 1,5 years old and the player is still be bought.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2017, 07:02:58 pm »
Why not fix this big problem?
Can I buy the media player with a useless function?
Product support or something? The last firmware is 1,5 years old and the player is still be bought.
This player is five years old. Retailers should tell people what they are buying. Everything is limited by the realtek 1186 SDK, and it's outdated safari webkit.

Offline jacou031

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2017, 07:06:05 pm »
So? no fix planned?
any solution?

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2017, 07:09:33 pm »
So? no fix planned?
any solution?
Nothing is planned. As internal features find their API's become outdated they will stop. Youtube did ages ago. No one is making 1186 players anymore, and no one is supporting their software. Everything is now ARM.

Offline Siull

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2017, 07:29:33 pm »
Time to change of media player is coming.... :'(

Offline Cinoche

  • X3D Skin Designer
  • Experienced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +3/-10
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2017, 01:39:23 pm »
Well I don't understand this because my x600 is still scraping TV series without problem. On the other hand, whenever I scrape 3D movies I get a "Scan Failed" message. Is that due to the https issue too? Before answering that last question, when I scrape the same movies in 2D the covers and artwork are found correctly. I'm thinking there must be something on the drive that has the 3D movies which has become corrupted but what could that be?

Update:
It no longer works for anything other than covers for TV series only. It won't even do that for movies. For the moment I'm manually downloading images from IMDB and resizing them. I'm wondering whether any stand alone software is available that can scrape or search for these things?
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 10:36:59 am by Cinoche »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2017, 08:58:58 pm »
« Last Edit: September 28, 2017, 05:03:14 pm by jer1956 »

Offline LudWig

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2017, 11:14:06 am »
Hi,

I'm kind a newbie with updates...  ::)
sooooo, I'd like to kwnow the way to install the update to solve the problem about the tvscraper.

Do I just need to put "TVRename2.3b1" on a USB key then, plug the USB on the mede8er and use the "update by USB" in the settings of the mede8er?

Thank you

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2017, 12:28:55 pm »
Hi,

I'm kind a newbie with updates...  ::)
sooooo, I'd like to kwnow the way to install the update to solve the problem about the tvscraper.

Do I just need to put "TVRename2.3b1" on a USB key then, plug the USB on the mede8er and use the "update by USB" in the settings of the mede8er?

Thank you
That is an external scraper which runs on a PC. The player hosted scraper still has issues.

Offline sphinc70

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: TV Scraper issue. August 2017.
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2017, 07:36:09 am »
Hi,
Is there any way of setting up Y2M so that episode information is shown? I've used TVRename a few times and find the results a bit hit and miss eg ratings not showing properly, show information not showing when moving from season to season etc.

Regards
Sphinc