Author Topic: Struggling With Networking MED450X2  (Read 1098 times)

Offline wubbster

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« on: January 01, 2017, 08:08:24 pm »
Very much a newbie with the Mede8er, although class myself as not a total rookie with PCs/laptops etc.

Just got a pre-owned MED450X2, 3.05 firmware(flashed to factory firmware and updated again to make sure any old settings were removed).

Connected via homeplugs as shows that the wired connection is ok.

Thats as far as I get. Ideally I want to FTP to the external USB hard drive on it, but any method of transferring files to it wirelessly would be fine, but I cannot get any kind of network connection to it or within the network section of the GUI. I even tried a direct network cable to it from my laptop and I expect it to show up in network locations on my laptop but doesn't. I have often struggled with networking in the past, but can ftp to a Vu+ Duo box.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. I have tried researching solutions and followed the instructions and guides but going round in circles.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 16 965
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +184/-37
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 11:17:49 am »
Turn on the Samba Server, it's your only option for transferring files over the network.

Offline wubbster

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2017, 06:31:17 pm »
I cannot see an option for this in Network.

Offline wubbster

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2017, 11:41:35 pm »
I have now managed to get the Mede8er box to show on my Laptop Network, but transfering a file was taking forever. What is the best wireless method to do it?

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 16 965
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +184/-37
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2017, 08:55:37 am »
The realtek wi-fi chip is simultaneous 150 mbps in and out. Realtek saying it's 300 is misleading. That is the best rate in lab settings. The industry needs some way of defining chips, and saying what the connecting rate is in a 1 meter distance test is how they do it. In the real world you don't get 150, you could be getting 50, or less. So copy/streaming rates of 2-3 mb/s is not unexpected. So yes, network copying will take an age, even by cable. Copying is CPU intensive, and with realtek designs the CPU is the bottleneck. Even with Gbit cable, an X3D only manages 14-16 mb/s.     

Offline wubbster

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2017, 09:01:31 am »
Thank you for your explanations and info.

When I FTP to my Vu+ Duo box the speed is fine, takes about 3-7 minutes for a 1gb file. So other than just dragging and dropping to my network box is there another wireless connection i should be using?

Offline wubbster

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Struggling With Networking MED450X2
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2017, 09:48:36 am »
I am getting 80kbs on Terracopy :(