Author Topic: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.  (Read 3220 times)

Offline johanna13

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« on: November 18, 2016, 05:38:55 pm »
Hello,

I have an Mede8er 500x2 and I can not get it to work on the internet.

When I go to the internet option in the Mede8er menu and I go to the Facebook button or almost any other button it will give the ssl handshake failed error.

I have tried to resolve this with the solutions I could find on the Mede8er forum but without success.

I can access the internet thru Google but when I try to go to Facebook, Outlook, etc. etc. thru Google the ssl error appears again.

I am totally lost here.

How can I solve this error ??

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 05:45:34 pm »
The browser dosn't support SSL. We are hosting a https to http proxy added for x3d users.  www.mede8er.click/proxy/

Bring up the url input and copy that url in. Put the https url into the box. It won't solve all problems.

It was being tested via the Twitter Icon on X3D internet services. I did ask we tested something else via that icon, so it may be a Subsonic Client now.

You can use the Google icon. It now uses that proxy. You just use change the https url in the box to facebook.com
« Last Edit: November 18, 2016, 06:01:49 pm by jer1956 »

Offline Bubbles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2017, 06:20:30 am »
Good day,

I am a total newbie so apologies in advance but is there a way that the "SSL handsake failed" issue can be overcome if I am using a MED450X2S? I have been searching all over the forum but either there are answers that are just too technically advanced for me to understand or else I just cannot find what to do.

Thank you in advance
Bubbles

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2017, 08:48:54 am »
Good day,

I am a total newbie so apologies in advance but is there a way that the "SSL handsake failed" issue can be overcome if I am using a MED450X2S? I have been searching all over the forum but either there are answers that are just too technically advanced for me to understand or else I just cannot find what to do.

Thank you in advance
Bubbles

The player cannot be updated to support third party internet services as they shift to Https. As they do, you lose the ability to use them. It's the down side of increasing the feature set via the use of internet based services, on a device with frozen code.

The x2 has it's own mede8er hosted internet services web page. I have asked it that can be changed to use the https proxy on the trailer server.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 09:24:37 am by jer1956 »


Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2017, 03:07:31 pm »
Once we have these links working, we will review the x3d link page.

Working does not mean trying to understand the  proxy, and changing it,  to make some links work. A couple of links get no further than the primary web page.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 07:51:22 pm by jer1956 »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2017, 10:36:35 am »
The X2 link page has now been updated to use the ssl proxy. Please check how well it works.

Moviedb could not be fixed using the proxy. It links to a page of my own links. The things there work with the X3D browser, and have never been tested with the X2. They may never work with the x2. But we have to test them somehow.

In the period since shifting to https some sites have made their web pages far too complicated for the x2 browser. They start to load, and hang.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 10:47:43 am by jer1956 »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2017, 07:50:01 pm »
Non of the moviebdb linked to links work. If you there are any links you want tried please post. Remember the x2 browser is not very powerful. One option is to try m. links and hope the mobile version is less demanding.

Offline Bubbles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Mede8er 500x2 ssl handshake failed error.
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2017, 04:48:02 am »
Thank you for this Jer1956! I will try this out.