Author Topic: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set  (Read 1309 times)

Offline jean3844

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« on: August 09, 2016, 04:01:50 pm »
Hello all,

This is about Med600X3D

I'm a new user, and my problem is that x3d doesnít appear on my tv set among the UPnP servers. it appears in the finder of my Mac, but not on the TV set.
I have a wired local network. The settings I have fixed on Med600X3D are :
wired Lan setup : ON
DHCP IP (auto)
The test connection is OK, and the IP address is the good one.

I add that I use the Samba system with the following settings :
Samba security : OFF
Samba process : ON

Frankly, I donít see what I can do in order to solve this problem. Any advice would be much appreciated  Thank you in advance.

jean

Offline micron

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 90
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +4/-1
x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2016, 05:27:26 pm »
Do you have a HDMI cable connected between your TV and the Mede8er ?
I don't think it will work without anny video connection.

Offline jean3844

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 06:52:50 am »
No, I don't. I have two TV sets, one next to the x3d, with HDMI connection, and it works.
The second one, which is in another room, is on the network which is not  wi-fi cconnected but linked by a LAN cable. I thought it could change, but apparently not. Therefore, there would be no solution to my problem...
Anyway, thank you for your fast and clear response.
Jean

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 16 918
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +182/-35
Re: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 06:13:44 pm »
The Mac will detect all kinds of servers. The TV will only detect UPNP servers. On the player setup that is called the DLNA DMS. That must be on.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2016, 09:57:31 am by jer1956 »

Offline micron

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Active Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 90
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +4/-1
x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2016, 08:37:34 am »
@jer1956
Thanks for information, i did not  now about this feature. Never to old to learn . Works great.

Offline jean3844

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2016, 11:53:28 am »
Great ! This is the response. Thank you very very much.
Now I can see x3d among UPnP servers and I can access to my files. But I have another problem. As far audio files are concerned, everything is OK, but for the video files, all in .mp4 H264, I see the files but I can't play them. I get the message : 'unsupported video'. Have you ever met this kind of problem?
Thanks again, and have a nice weekend.

Jean

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 16 918
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +182/-35
Re: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2016, 01:31:56 pm »
Upnp is a media sharing system, not file sharing. The media player in the TV will have different codecs to that on the X3D. So some files the x3d can play, the TV can't. 

Offline jean3844

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: x3d doesn't appear on my tv set
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2016, 03:34:23 pm »
All right, I understand. Thanks again.
Jean