Author Topic: Feedback for - V4.0.2 - 6April2016 - Beta -X3D Series - MED1000X3D/MED800X3  (Read 20681 times)

Offline eentje

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +3/-3
  • there aint noboby like eent :)
a thats a bummer the we dont get any more updates. my new player wont be a med thats for sure.
-- med500x2 --synology ds1512+ 2x3tb + 1x4tb 1x 6tb  -o onkyo htr-380 reciever

www.thetvdb.com contributor

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
You have posted that on a section with 9 pages of comments on X3D firmware. You make it sound like you just got one firmware, and then nothing. You have had more effort put into the 1186 than you would have done if Mede8er had moved onto a rubbish first generation ARM chip like all the rest.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2016, 08:42:27 am by jer1956 »

Offline eentje

  • B8a Tester - X2
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +3/-3
  • there aint noboby like eent :)
You have posted that on a section with 9 pages of comments on X3D firmware. You make it sound like you just got one firmware, and then nothing. You have had more effort put into the 1186 than you would have done if Mede8er had moved onto a rubbish first generation ARM chip like all the rest.

my comment sounded a bit harsh maybe. was not intended. the long firmware updates was one of the main reason i chose med in the first place :)

i hoped they will fix the known issues with last firmware atleast.
-- med500x2 --synology ds1512+ 2x3tb + 1x4tb 1x 6tb  -o onkyo htr-380 reciever

www.thetvdb.com contributor

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
If they had brought out a new player last year there would have less upgrades to the x3d than there has been. It would have been accepted the 1186 was no longer an on going product with engineers working on it. Mede8er's prime contractor focussed on other OEM's who wanted ARM based players. They couldn't sit around with 1186 engineers doing nothing. Now they cannot switch back from ARM code development without great inconvenience.

Offline Piper2603

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Sorry about my bad english, cause I am german

The thing I miss in all Firmwares, sort by Sorttitle like the Duneplayer can do, so the real title of the movie is untouched and i can sort it like Lord of the rings 01...02...03 without changing the real filename

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Sorry about my bad english, cause I am german

The thing I miss in all Firmwares, sort by Sorttitle like the Duneplayer can do, so the real title of the movie is untouched and i can sort it like Lord of the rings 01...02...03 without changing the real filename

That is a Movie Jukebox Search function. You won't get it from the basic Media Library.

Offline akil3x

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-1
Can subtitles be fixed in our last firmware???

Search is not working :( Thanks

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 222
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +192/-53
Can subtitles be fixed in our last firmware???

Search is not working :( Thanks


http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,18154.0.html

Offline DeathCharge

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Hi guys,

I installed the new firmware today V4.0.2 (V4.0.3) and downgraded once more to X3D_Series_V4.0.0_2Jan_2015. This due to the reason that every illustration (image, photo) don't play fullscreen on my tv screen. V4.0 has no problem with this whatsoever. It varies from camera files to plain simple media files in format .jpg/jpeg or .bmp. The thumbnails no issues on all versions.

Another thingie is, which I do not encounter on V4.0, is that the hdmi source switches on and off on a irregular basis.

Non version related is that I always have troubles playing 8/10bit .mkv files. Getting a lot of blocks.
Of course when I connect my tv screen to a laptop it works, but the video quality is better as well. Don't use codec packs, only vlc player.

Did do a search on the forum, couldn't find the answer. Apologies if I overlooked.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Hi guys,

I installed the new firmware today V4.0.2 (V4.0.3) and downgraded once more to X3D_Series_V4.0.0_2Jan_2015. This due to the reason that every illustration (image, photo) don't play fullscreen on my tv screen. V4.0 has no problem with this whatsoever. It varies from camera files to plain simple media files in format .jpg/jpeg or .bmp. The thumbnails no issues on all versions.

--> If you read some back on this thread this was pointed out before, and there is referred to e.g. this post
http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,17236.msg109771.html#msg109771
Solution is to do factory reset when you have this issue and after that don't use a saved config file to restore the setting but just set all user setting manual back again. Doing a restore of the config will copy back the issue if you have it....


Another thingie is, which I do not encounter on V4.0, is that the hdmi source switches on and off on a irregular basis.

--> have not heard that before, but that might also be solved by the solution given above for the issue with the pictures. You might have some strange settings in your old config that is causing issue with the new FW version.

Non version related is that I always have troubles playing 8/10bit .mkv files. Getting a lot of blocks.
Of course when I connect my tv screen to a laptop it works, but the video quality is better as well. Don't use codec packs, only vlc player.

--> has been asked before. these 8/10bit files often use a very high video compression codec which the X3D SOC cannot cope with. A powerful PC processor is able and hence you see this difference.

Did do a search on the forum, couldn't find the answer. Apologies if I overlooked.


See input in blue above - hope this helps.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline adi1

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 19
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-4
I have a big request.

1.There's a possibility improved Subtitle border for default #7 subs on subtitle menu outline/colour option.

2.Is it possible to create subtitles with black box background.





Regards
« Last Edit: November 27, 2016, 02:23:13 pm by adi1 »

Offline willemsej

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-1
Please post your feedback here

When will there be an next update ?

Offline TifKag

  • X2 Skin Designer
  • Experienced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +4/-13
When will there be an next update ?

Read this topic It's only 3 pages.

Then you will have the answer you need

Offline TifKag

  • X2 Skin Designer
  • Experienced Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +4/-13
I have a big request.

1.There's a possibility improved Subtitle border for default #7 subs on subtitle menu outline/colour option.

2.Is it possible to create subtitles with black box background.


Do you have other questions to, because it is the same one over and over again

Offline victor0338

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-2
Hi, waiting for a new update and new funciton....
When?

thx so much!