Author Topic: Cannot access med500x from network  (Read 3694 times)

Offline nvarga

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Cannot access med500x from network
« on: March 22, 2015, 08:11:36 am »
Recently after few years, I updated to 4.06 (from) 4.04.
I have med500x connected with wire to my network, with fixed ip.
Everything worked fine and now suddenly I cannot access mede8er via network. Nas mode is on.
I use mac and windows computer.

I only can reach it via ftp and that works. Nothing in settings nor in my network was changed.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 128
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +189/-52
Re: Cannot access med500x from network
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 09:03:08 am »
Any power outages or lightning storms recently?

Offline nvarga

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Cannot access med500x from network
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 10:19:21 am »
No and everything else works fine.

I also tried Winshare Manager 3.1 and it finds mede8er immediately but when i click mount nothing happens.

In windows sharing center mede8er never shows up. Like it doesn't exist on network.

On Mac it shows mede8er on network but when i click on it it says something like connection cannot be established.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2015, 10:31:28 am by nvarga »

Offline nvarga

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Cannot access med500x from network
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2015, 09:24:21 am »
It showed up in windows network but I still cannot connect to it.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 128
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +189/-52
Re: Cannot access med500x from network
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2015, 09:40:23 am »
Network  Discovery dosnt tell  you what is  online, only what other devices are aware exist on the network, be they on or off.  So it may not be the player itself that the PC has connected with  to  find  that out, even  though its there.  

This is usually down  to DNS issues.  You cant fix to an IP the router would like to  allocate. Its better to  use DHCP and then make the IP it wants to allocate static in the router.

Offline nvarga

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 12
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: Cannot access med500x from network
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2015, 06:54:40 pm »
Ok, I found that this is know problem. Re-installation of firmware solved the problem.