Author Topic: 1000 on long network cable not detecting network  (Read 3087 times)

Offline guz_69

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
1000 on long network cable not detecting network
« on: August 13, 2014, 09:02:42 AM »
Hi all,
I just bought a MED100X3D and must say from a GUI point of view I am very happy with the unit, I owned a DVICO TVIX prior to this.
My question is that I can't get a connection through my network cable to my tv cabinet even though it works with my laptop.  Is there a network CAT5 length limit on the Mede8er as I am at a loss to explain why it won't work,
Steps I have taken:
Started with firmware 3.03 but wouldn't connect to the network over long cable but would over a short cable
Updated firmware to 3.06 SUCCESSFUL UPDATE
Started the 1000 from the 25m cable to the TV cabinet - FAILED CONNECTION
Started the 1000 from a short 5m cable near my router - SUCCESSFUL CONNECTION
Tested tv cabinet CAT5 cable with a cable tester - SUCCESSFUL TEST
Tested tv cabinet CAT5 cable on my laptop - SUCCESSFUL CONNECTION

The connection lights on the router just flash trying to connect when I plug the cable in and I don't get any indication at all from the connection on the 1000.
Has anyone got any ideas on a fix for this?
Thanks, Grant


Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: 1000 on long network cable not detecting network
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 11:12:44 AM »
Is this a single length, or buried in the walls with with short lengths connected to wall sockets at each end?

You laptop might be working because it has auto negotiated down to a useless connection speed.

Offline guz_69

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: 1000 on long network cable not detecting network
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2014, 09:32:08 AM »
Is this a single length, or buried in the walls with with short lengths connected to wall sockets at each end?

You laptop might be working because it has auto negotiated down to a useless connection speed.
Jer1956, thanks for the reply, yes it is a single run terminated into wall socket plugs on each end.
When I ping the lappy from my PC I get replies of around TTL 80
Guz

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re:
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2014, 10:50:32 AM »
Are you sure the cable ends are correct?
No wrong twists in it?
A laptop might do auto cross over, de mede8er not.
You might want to put a gbit switch at the end of the wall cable to sort this issue and check if it is a marginal max cable length issue.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline guz_69

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: 1000 on long network cable not detecting network
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2014, 01:23:21 AM »
All fixed.  I re terminated the ends into the wall plugs to ensure I had a good connection, even though the cable tester said it was ok and it works fine now after doing this.  There must have been a weak pin connection on one of the wires even though the laptop connected fine and tester indicated ok wiring.
Thanks, Guz.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re:
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2014, 05:44:53 AM »
Good to hear you found the root cause.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.