Author Topic: Starting from Scratch...Need Advice  (Read 19385 times)

Offline Budge

• B8a Tester - 1000X3D
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +1/-0
Starting from Scratch...Need Advice
« on: February 07, 2013, 03:56:06 pm »
Hi.  This is my first post.  After some lurking here and on the AVS forum, I finally decided to get a Mede8er.  I'm new to streaming devices, though I have tried PMS, MakeMKV Server, and TVersity on my Win7 PC to a PS3.

So here's my situation.  I have a living room with a 2D television/receiver setup and a PS3.  I also have a playroom with a brand new LG 3D TV.  The LG tv and the PS3 both have DLNA, but I have no idea what AV formats they can take.

I was originally planning on getting a MED1000X3D because I had read about problems with 3DBDISO over the network, but that seems to have been fixed with the new firmware.  I also thought I could stream from the internal hard drive on the 1000 to my LG, but I have since read that the NAS server function of the 1000 is not optimized for streaming.  Now it seems it doesn't really matter if I get a 1000 or a 600.

So if I want to have a media library available to both rooms simultaneously, it seems I need a good NAS (if I don't want to have to run my computer all of the time).  After some reading, Synology became the top contender.  I'm looking at a DS212j or a DS213.  I'm sure the 213 would be better, but I'm not sure if it's really worth the extra $100 for my needs.  I have no idea yet about what I will use the NAS for other than streaming and backups.  Any suggestions?