Mede8er Forum

Mede8er Products => MED600X3D / MED1000X3D / MED800X3D => Networking & Internet Issues => Topic started by: hdmkv on September 19, 2012, 02:12:20 PM

Title: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 19, 2012, 02:12:20 PM
Tried to set-up NFS as instructed (http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,9071.msg57585.html#msg57585), but just keeps showing 'Failed' on 1000X3D. Same NFS connection works fine via my Boxee Box. Also works fine via HiMedia HD900B, another RTD1186 streamer, as it has a NFS dicovery feature that returns all NFS shares and you can just pick the ones you want to add to 'Favorites'.

What am I doing wrong? On my Synology DS1812+ with DSM 4, I did exactly as instructed above. The shares I tried this on are /volume1/Movies 3D and I also tried a share without any spaces in the name: /volume2/Videos. Neither work on 1000X3D, where I get a 'Failed' message after I try to open the share I've added as instructed.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: NoZEM on September 19, 2012, 04:17:13 PM
Hi mdmkv,

Please read here http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=NFS (http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=NFS) and start reading from NFS sharing from commercial NAS systems such as Synology or QNAP
Don't forget to apply cat /etc/export

Good luck.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: couto on September 19, 2012, 09:01:41 PM
Tried to set-up NFS as instructed (http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,9071.msg57585.html#msg57585), but just keeps showing 'Failed' on 1000X3D. Same NFS connection works fine via my Boxee Box. Also works fine via HiMedia HD900B, another RTD1186 streamer, as it has a NFS dicovery feature that returns all NFS shares and you can just pick the ones you want to add to 'Favorites'.

What am I doing wrong? On my Synology DS1812+ with DSM 4, I did exactly as instructed above. The shares I tried this on are /volume1/Movies 3D and I also tried a share without any spaces in the name: /volume2/Videos. Neither work on 1000X3D, where I get a 'Failed' message after I try to open the share I've added as instructed.

im sure you  are doing the correct procedure...... /volume1/videos

this is the ip address of micca and med1000x3d ending in 103 and 104 (sorry is in portuguese language)

(http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/5012/capturadeecr20120919s21.png) (http://img856.imageshack.us/i/capturadeecr20120919s21.png/)

(http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/5012/capturadeecr20120919s21.png) (http://img651.imageshack.us/i/capturadeecr20120919s21.png/)

in nfs eliminate all nfs client on right side

add new > put the synology ip address > and the /volume1/videos >ok

if is not working is a bug in x3 or privileges in synology
try to add a manually ip address in x3 with new privileges in synology

ps: i dont have favorites in nfs or samba in x3





Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: jer1956 on September 20, 2012, 12:37:41 PM
One common mistake is not to put the first "/" in before the drive letter in the share name on the Med Setup.
Title: Re: Re: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: Maasbommel on September 20, 2012, 02:30:42 PM
One common mistake is not to put the first "/" in before the drive letter in the share name on the Med Setup.

Path on mede8er needs the /
So e.g. /volume1/Movies
If share is called Movies

Without the / it not works to connect to my Synology share.

Setting up the NFS privilige rule is important.

And be aware of capitals - case sensitive.

sent by mobile with Tapatalk
Title: Re: Re: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: Maasbommel on September 20, 2012, 02:31:40 PM
One common mistake is not to put the first "/" in before the drive letter in the share name on the Med Setup.

Path on mede8er needs the /
So e.g. /volume1/Movies
If share is called Movies

Without the / it not works to connect to my Synology share.

Setting up the NFS privilige rule is important.

And be aware of capitals - case sensitive.

sent by mobile with Tapatalk
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 20, 2012, 03:02:12 PM
Did the "/", specifically "/volume1/Movies 3D", but didn't work. In Synology, when enabling NFS privileges for each share, it shows you the exact mount path. Like I said, I can get Boxee Box to connect via NFS by just browsing to it, but as there's no browse for NFS in Mede8er, I need to keep trying different things. Plan to spend some more time this weekend.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 23, 2012, 09:44:03 PM
Finally able to connect to 1000X3D via NFS, but as I'm getting worse performance than with SMB, maybe I'm doing something wrong. Here's my exact setup. What else do I need to do?

(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs1_zps3e25a214.jpg)
(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs2_zps3a4621d7.jpg)
(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs3_zps3b9d300e.jpg)
(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs4_zps1bd3c78c.jpg)
(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs5_zpsc4f61dd4.jpg)
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 23, 2012, 09:59:57 PM
By the way, just tried this as posted here (http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,1574.msg41941.html#msg41941). Still getting stutter on some high bitrate 3D BDs.

(http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c6/brajesh/HT/nfs6_zps8eaa35cc.jpg)
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: Maasbommel on September 24, 2012, 06:45:31 AM
Put Asynchronous of and be sure to have jumbo frames off.
Then reboot your Synology nas and try again.

You have some NFS setup issue as performance of NFS should always be better then samba.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 24, 2012, 11:15:17 PM
Tried it. Same issues with bad stuttering. I give up on NFS... sticking with SMB. Appreciate your help however. With the improvements in SMB with the 21 Sept 2012 firmware, I can live with the minor (30 seconds or so) hiccup I get when jumping ahead some chapters. The 1000X3D recovers and resumes playing smoothly. If you guys can further improve SMB performance, that would fix the issue with high bitrate 3D BD's once and for all.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 26, 2012, 05:13:58 PM
Hello,

I have the same problem and the NFS does not function with 1000X3D
I have one Synology 1812+ and one synology 508 and the problem is the same one!

With Synology 1812+: 

Without Link Aggr

NFS -> function not and no means of making it function
UPnP -> All is ok, slow to find on the network, but functions.

With Link Aggr:

NFS -> function not and no means of making it function
UPnP -> function not and no means of making it function

For me the problem comes clearly from the 1000X3D
I tested with other Mediaplayer (Popcorn A-200, Popcorn A-300, and 3 models of Dune) ::) ::)
And all functions without problem. 8)
There is only the 1000X3D which does not recognize the NFS and (UPnP - with the Link Agg) >:( >:(

Apparently the service support is not ready to help us with this subject.

As a result I council with my using customer of the NAS in NFS, not to take 1000X3D and their council of the A-300 Popcorn.

It is sad because for the rest the 1000X3D is excellent. It is first Mediaplayer which I see managing all the codec with fluidity.


Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: couto on September 26, 2012, 05:27:34 PM
Hello,

I have the same problem and the NFS does not function with 1000X3D
I have one Synology 1812+ and one synology 508 and the problem is the same one!

With Synology 1812+:  

Without Link Aggr

NFS -> function not and no means of making it function
UPnP -> All is ok, slow to find on the network, but functions.

With Link Aggr:

NFS -> function not and no means of making it function
UPnP -> function not and no means of making it function

For me the problem comes clearly from the 1000X3D
I tested with other Mediaplayer (Popcorn A-200, Popcorn A-300, and 3 models of Dune) ::) ::)
And all functions without problem. 8)
There is only the 1000X3D which does not recognize the NFS and (UPnP - with the Link Agg) >:( >:(

Apparently the service support is not ready to help us with this subject.

As a result I council with my using customer of the NAS in NFS, not to take 1000X3D and their council of the A-300 Popcorn.

It is sad because for the rest the 1000X3D is excellent. It is first Mediaplayer which I see managing all the codec with fluidity.


it strange that for some like mine with ds412+ (lfirmware  dsm 4.0-2219 ) is working and for you and hdmkv not working .

if matter im using my admin account to share the files in nfs and samba with x3
but create a new account to access outside of lan, dont interfere in same files.
guest account is disable

DS412+ >CAT5 >  E4200> CAT6 >  X3 (jumbo frames off)

fixed ip addres in x3
fixed ip addres in ds412+

no spaces or strange simbols in password or username  in ds412+  just letters and numbers


Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: Maasbommel on September 26, 2012, 05:38:58 PM
My guess it is caused by something in between the 1000X3D and the Synology NAS.....
Used router - switches or both....

I am using a
Synology NAS 409Slim with DSM 4.1,-> Netgear router WNDR 3700 - to a Sitecom gbit switch - to another Sitecom gbit switch - to 1000X3D
NFS streaming without issues and better bandwith then samba on same Synology NAS.
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 26, 2012, 05:39:51 PM
For the Synology my DSM is 3.1

But for my Synology 1812+ my DSM is 4.1 (the last version)
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 26, 2012, 05:56:55 PM
Maasbommel

Can you give your 1000X3D configuration and your Synology configuration.

Maybe with one or two screenshoot?

Thx
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: hdmkv on September 26, 2012, 06:21:36 PM
+1.

edcar, are you getting stuttering via NFS using your 1812+ with DSM 4 versus using SMB for really high bitrate BD rips?
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 26, 2012, 06:37:04 PM
HDMKV:
No, but with the another Player, i have not problem

My problem is only with MED1000X3D.

For me it would be simpler if one could parameters NFS in the MED1000X3D  :P

With:

IP synology
Path on the Synology Ex: \

VOLUME1\VIDEO
VOLUME1\Music
VOLUME1\....
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: Maasbommel on September 26, 2012, 07:54:06 PM
edgar,

your issue is different as hdmkv, as he is now able to connect to his NFS shares but has lower streaming performance then with samba sharing.

in your case you are not able to connect to your nfs shares if I understand correctly.
Did you follow the setup steps as described in the beginning of this post?
- do you have jumbo frames switched on or off on your synology
- did you try to use the latest 1.0.3 21 sept open beta? that has NFS path scanning? that helps to connect to the proper path if you have issues with that
- is your synology nas set on a fixed ip addres?
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 27, 2012, 02:07:57 PM
On my MED1000X3D i place one IPFIXED and on my Synology, i fixed the Ip to MED1000X3D and one another with the Host Nname MED1000X3D.

- do you have jumbo frames switched on or off on your synology --> YES   :P

- did you try to use the latest 1.0.3 21 sept open beta? that has NFS path scanning? that helps to connect to the proper path if you have issues with that --> YES  :P

- is your synology nas set on a fixed ip addres? -->YES  :P


I took another 1000X3D in my stock.  :o
And now all functions correctly  ;D
The problem comes from the model of exposure.  :(

I had a bug with this one, but I cut off the supply and to start again the MED1000X3D and all returned correctly.
  ??? ???
But now, all is ok.  8) 8)

 :P :P :P



Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: jer1956 on September 27, 2012, 02:25:20 PM

I took another 1000X3D in my stock.  :o
And now all functions correctly  ;D
The problem comes from the model of exposure.  :(

I had a bug with this one, but I cut off the supply and to start again the MED1000X3D and all returned correctly.
  ??? ???
But now, all is ok.  8) 8)

 :P :P :P





So you saying getting everthing working with a second x3 then allowed the first to work as  it should? 
Title: Re: Problems Setting Up NFS on 1000X3D and Synology
Post by: edcar on September 27, 2012, 05:05:09 PM
As with the second who functioned directly!