Mede8er Forum

Mede8er Products => MED500X2/MED400X2/MED400X2S/MED450X2/MED450X2S => Networking & Internet Issues => Topic started by: Thomson's Travels on January 10, 2017, 03:52:25 pm

Title: MED500X2 with MED10WF8 wifi dongle - Problem
Post by: Thomson's Travels on January 10, 2017, 03:52:25 pm
So, I have been playing with the MEDE8ER400X2 for about a year and a half, always connected to the internet with a wired connection. I am now trying to link wirelessly with the MED10WF8 wifi dongle.

When I search for Access Points (AP) I see the one I want to connect to, add the password, but the test always fails and when I go back in to try again, all AP's have vanished until I reinsert the dongle.

The same happens no mater which USB socket I use. Hopefully someone here will be able to guide me through this problem, or suggest a way forward.
Title: Re: MED500X2 with MED10WF8 wifi dongle - Problem
Post by: jer1956 on January 10, 2017, 04:07:12 pm
Is it your AP? The issue is it's only reliable with a specific security setup.


http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,1687.msg9976.html#msg9976
Title: Re: MED500X2 with MED10WF8 wifi dongle - Problem
Post by: Thomson's Travels on January 10, 2017, 04:50:43 pm
I don't think so, I have the AP set up with WPA2-personal security.

I have just upgraded from V3.0.3 to the latest firmware V3.0.5 if that helps. Although doing so didn't sort the problem out.
Title: Re: MED500X2 with MED10WF8 wifi dongle - Problem
Post by: jer1956 on January 11, 2017, 12:59:07 pm
I just tested. My sequence is
1)Use Auto DHCP, once tested Ok, exit Setup using Setup button. Do not Ret up the menu structure.
2)Re-enter Setup. Go to last page and check Network Info. Take note of IP and Gateway.
3)Go to Network Setup. This time used Fixed IP. Use the information noted above. Use IP, and Gateway for both Gateway and DNS server. After it says OK, exit setup again using Setup button.

P.S. To store AP password in case of failure, use the DLNA host name editor. Change the name to he ap password. Once it's stored in the virtual keyboard, put the old host name back.