Mede8er Forum

Mede8er Publicity => Customer Feedback & Reviews => Topic started by: foxter on August 30, 2015, 05:23:31 PM

Title: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on August 30, 2015, 05:23:31 PM
Hello developers,

I bought 26.8.2015 Mede8er MED800X3D  and I have issue with youtube. Youtube application does not work. If I run youtube app progressbar will be frozen. Now I have firmware version 4.0.0.
I am disappointed. The main reason for the purchase this product was YouTube.

BR
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on August 31, 2015, 06:43:38 AM
Change the dns server in lan setup to 8.8.8.8.

Player setting defaults cant be best for everyone, there are too many variables.


This player is not plug'n'play, if such a thing exists. So its best to post first as a technical issue  to find what config changes you have to make.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: Nachoman on September 02, 2015, 05:07:14 PM
maybe its because he lives on north korea or turky where its forbidden to do human stuff like watching youtbe ?
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on September 05, 2015, 12:08:06 PM
I am from Slovakia  ;)

Player is connected via Wifi. If I disable and enable  power source then youtube app works. But only once!
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: Nachoman on September 06, 2015, 09:20:24 PM
hmm, thats interessting. did u checked your routers settings ? maybe put the mede8er in whitelist or something?
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on September 18, 2015, 09:08:32 AM
Today I found the problem.
I have MED800X3D/WP  with built-in wifi module PCIE. If the device is connected via wifi so Youtube app does not work. Other applications work correctly via wifi - for example DLNA.
If the device is connected directly via LAN so Youtube app works. Firmware has bug.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: Maasbommel on September 18, 2015, 05:28:40 PM
Today I found the problem.
I have MED800X3D/WP  with built-in wifi module PCIE. If the device is connected via wifi so Youtube app does not work. Other applications work correctly via wifi - for example DLNA.
If the device is connected directly via LAN so Youtube app works. Firmware has bug.

Then probably your mede8er does not get a proper DNS address when connected by Wifi.
I have just verified and here YouTube app works when connected on Wifi.

Any others that can confirm this?
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: Nachoman on September 19, 2015, 12:07:26 AM
Perhaps he should change the DNS in his Router then also?
I do not have wifi, thats just asking for stream trouble i think.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: Maasbommel on September 19, 2015, 06:44:38 AM
Perhaps he should change the DNS in his Router then also?
I do not have wifi, thats just asking for stream trouble i think.

It depends?
If it works with lan cable and if he connected by wifi on same router (combined wifi + switch on one router), then that should normally both work.
If he uses something else for the wifi - then it must be some setting on that device that is not passing DNS properly.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on October 03, 2015, 10:16:31 AM
Hello,

I have still problem with youtube app. MED800X3D/WP is connected via built-in wifi module PCIE
Today I reinstalled fw 4.0.0 to 3.0.7 . (same result as 4.0.0)
Here is my report :
I reinstalled fw . I set wifi . Run youtube app. And Youtube works.
But if I change lang. to "čeština" and press power off and on. Wait 10 s .
So youtube app has stopped working. (Only via wifi) .Progressbar is still 0%.
Another app works.

First time youtube works = router setup must be ok!
Next time youtube does not work. Nevermore. Youtube works only via LAN cable .
Another app works (IPTV,DLNA)= wifi is still connected.

Here is video:
www.projectik.eu/media/media/images/VID_20151003_114733.mp4 (http://www.projectik.eu/media/media/images/VID_20151003_114733.mp4)
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on October 03, 2015, 01:22:31 PM
Are you waiting for the WiFi plug in message after boot before using youtube?
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on October 04, 2015, 06:21:58 AM
Yes,I was waiting for wifi plug. I tried another internet app and worked. After I checked again youtube and youtube app did not work.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on October 04, 2015, 07:58:31 AM
The player isnt plug n play. One app may be happy with slow dns, and another wont be. You have to change dns server setting.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on October 04, 2015, 10:02:11 AM
The player isnt plug n play. One app may be happy with slow dns, and another wont be. You have to change dns server setting.
Why do I have to change DNS settings ? Fisrt time DNS was OK. Why is it NG for next time ? DNS is same.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on October 04, 2015, 10:09:12 AM
You will have to  keep changing settings until it works rather than  expecting the code to  change.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: riaanstrydomza on October 09, 2015, 08:23:14 AM
foxter,

Where in Slovakia are you?  I might be able to help...

Edit...

Ok, so seeing as I never used the YouTube app on the Mede8er because of iDevices/SamsungTV/Computers; I just went and did a test on my 600X3D which is on WiFi...

Opened YouTube app, watched Tonight Show with Jimmy Kimmel and X-Files Promo right after each other, no issues whatsoever... 

I'm on Telekom broadband, wifi connected via Apple Airport...  Firmware version 4.0.2...

I would start by updating your firmware first and then checking if that solves the issue...
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: foxter on January 08, 2016, 09:05:28 PM
I bought 26.8.2015 Mede8er MED800X3D.
Summary:
Hardware of MED800X3D is really powerful. But software is bad and is not user friendly. SW developers made 2 updates per year .
A lot of time I fight with the player.
More video,audio and photo format is unsupported.
I must always turn off subtitles, change audio track. It is not able to remember my choice.
Youtube does not work via built in WIFI only via LAN.

Now I have SONY android TV 55w808 and I installed  Kodi - XBMC player app. Now is all video format supported. This is user friendly app.

 8)


Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: nico_ras@telkomsa.net on February 15, 2016, 06:13:20 AM
I am also very disappointed with this player. It sounds like cr@p. The remote flips through menus two or three at a time, the music player is absolute rubbish, it is endlessly difficult to play songs of a certain category or mix of songs because the player does not read the ID tags.  :'(

Can one install JRiver or MediaMonkey, anything but this stupid Jukebox. I am planning to replace it with a external streaming player with half decent DAC, not the 90c Realtek as in this thing. Problem is that everything will be duplicated because it can also play from the NAS drive, USB, SPDIF, and Internet. I made a bad choice.  :-[
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on February 15, 2016, 08:50:57 AM
I am also very disappointed with this player. It sounds like cr@p. The remote flips through menus two or three at a time, the music player is absolute rubbish, it is endlessly difficult to play songs of a certain category or mix of songs because the player does not read the ID tags.  :'(

Can one install JRiver or MediaMonkey, anything but this stupid Jukebox. I am planning to replace it with a external streaming player with half decent DAC, not the 90c Realtek as in this thing. Problem is that everything will be duplicated because it can also play from the NAS drive, USB, SPDIF, and Internet. I made a bad choice.  :-[

Just play music this way

http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php/topic,17286.0.html

Or follow the link in that to the DMR solution, which can work with Mediamonkey.

I have my player doing this most of the time now....

....but if you need to use the DAC then either you need to upgrade your surround amp, or if its quality hi fi, then something much better than any  media player, such as a hi fi quality streamer designed for the job. Those with a decent hdmi surround amp have a box full of quality 24 bit DAC's.  Its just a question of delivering quslity PCM to them from a hdmi equipped source, such as the X3D.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: nico_ras@telkomsa.net on July 03, 2016, 04:08:25 PM
If I shoud buy a new external DAC as you suggest what was the piont of having this the Media8er800X3D, because it has a .....? What? I could do more with my phone.... and it is an old Nokia8N not even very smart for that matter.
Title: Re: I am disappointed
Post by: jer1956 on July 03, 2016, 05:04:27 PM
Most people already use their player with a surrround amp. A HD Audio surround amp has 24 bit DAC's.